top of page

BISON SLAUGHTER

TED-Education

Depuis toujours, les Nations natives nord-américaines des Grandes Plaines ont survécu grâce à leur cohabitation avec les bisons, transformant les peaux en tentes, en manteaux d'hiver et en couvertures, utilisant les os et les cornes comme outils et les tendons comme fils.
 

Au milieu des années 1700, des milliers de colons américains ont commencé à occuper les plaines, déterminés à exploiter ses ressources naturelles. Et après la guerre civile américaine, le gouvernement des États Unis d'Amérique a incité ses citoyens à chasser le bison pour affaiblir les populations natives des Grandes Plaines, et les contraindre à vivre dans des réserves. Le nombre de bison sur le territoire passa d’approximativement 50 millions à moins de 1 000 individus en quelques années seulement...

 

Une partie de ce massacre organisé, a permis l'essor industriel du territoire Étasuniens, grâce à l'utilisation du cuir pour les courroies des machines dans toutes les usines du pays. Un moment terrible de l'histoire des USA, sur le plan social comme sur le plan environnemental. 
 

Plus d’information sur le massacre des bisons sur le territoire nord américain.
Plus d’information sur TED Education.

 

Une vidéo produite pour Ted-Education par Atypicalist (anciennement  Boniato Studio).

CREDITS
 

Educators - Andrew C. Isenberg

Narrator - Addison Anderson

Director & Art Director - Rémi Cans

Production Assistant - Sacha Cerqui

Animator - Dabid Pascual

Sound Designer - Amanda P.H Bennett

Composer - Salil Bhayani

Executive Creative Director - Logan Smalley

Director of Production - Gerta Xhelo 

Producer - Abdallah Ewis

Historical Consultant - Jeffrey D. Means

bottom of page

top of page

BISON SLAUGHTER

TED-Education

Since time immemorial, the native North American nations of the Great Plains have survived thanks to their cohabitation with the bison, turning their hides into tents, winter coats and blankets, using bones and horns as tools and sinew as thread.

 

In the mid-1700s, thousands of American settlers began occupying the plains, determined to exploit its natural resources. And after the American Civil War, the government of the United States of America deliberately encouraged its citizens to hunt bison in order to weaken the native populations of the Great Plains, and force them to live in Reservations. The number of bison on this territory felt from approximately 50 millions  to fewer than 1,000 individuals in just a few years.

 

Part of this organized slaughter enabled the industrial expansion of the United States, through the use of bison hides for industrial machine belts. A terrible moment in US history, both socially and environmentally.
 

More information on the bison slaughter in North America

More information about TED Education

A video produced for Ted-Education by Atypicalist (formerly Boniato Studio).
 

CREDITS
 

Educators - Andrew C. Isenberg

Narrator - Addison Anderson

Director & Art Director - Rémi Cans

Production Assistant - Sacha Cerqui

Animator - Dabid Pascual

Sound Designer - Amanda P.H Bennett

Composer - Salil Bhayani

Executive Creative Director - Logan Smalley

Director of Production - Gerta Xhelo 

Producer - Abdallah Ewis

Historical Consultant - Jeffrey D. Means

bottom of page